#### REPORT OF OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

# (SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 5 JUNE 2006

Chair: \* Councillor Jean Lammiman

Councillors: \* B E Gate \* Anthony Seymour

Mitzi Green \* Mrs Rekha Shah
Salim Miah \* Mrs Sasi Suresh (2)
Mrs Myra Michael \* Mark Versallion

\* Richard Romain

\* Denotes Member present

(2) Denotes category of Reserve Members

[Note: Councillor Christopher Noyce also attended this meeting in a participatory role].

#### **PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL**

**PART II - MINUTES** 

## 1. **Appointment of Chairman:**

**RESOLVED:** To note the appointment under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 1.1 (xii) at the Extraordinary Council Meeting, held on 31 May 2006 of Councillor Jean Lammiman as Chairman of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2006/07.

### 2. Attendance by Reserve Members:

**RESOLVED:** To note the attendance of the following duly appointed Reserve Member:-

Ordinary Member Reserve Member

Councillor Jerry Miles Councillor Mrs Sasi Suresh

### 3. **Declarations of Interest:**

**RESOLVED:** To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business to be transacted at this meeting.

#### 4. Arrangement of Agenda:

**RESOLVED:** That all items on the agenda be considered with the press and public present.

#### 5. **Appointment of Vice-Chairman:**

**RESOLVED:** To appoint Councillor Mitzi Green as Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2006/07.

## 6. Minutes:

**RESOLVED:** That the minutes of the meeting held on 25 April 2006 be deferred until the next ordinary meeting of this Committee.

# 7. Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committees:

The Committee received a report of the Director of People, Performance and Policy on the proposals to reconfigure the Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committees to reflect the changing role of Scrutiny following government proposals.

A Member queried the Portfolio Holder relationship between the Sub-Committees under their guise and their attendance at meetings. In addition concerns were raised over the omission of libraries from the review programme and the fact that there was no strategic overview for health included.

Responding, the Chair advised that such anomalies would be addressed and a schedule of dates had been proposed to address these issues, and would be circulated to all Members of the Committee.

**RESOLVED:** That (1) the reconfiguration and renaming of the Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committees be agreed;

- (2) the changed remit and terms of reference of the Scrutiny Sub-Committees be approved;
- (3) further reports from officers regarding the effectiveness of the changes be submitted to future meetings;
- (4) the unchanged terms of reference of the Call-In Sub-Committee be noted.

## 8. Establishment of Sub-Committees 2006-07:

Further to the nominations now submitted in relation to this Committee's Sub-Committees memberships and the proposed appointments of Chairmen of the Sub-Committees, upon being put to the vote, it was,

**RESOLVED:** That the Scrutiny Sub-Committees be established for the Municipal Year 2006/07 with the Chairman and memberships as detailed in the appendix to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.45 pm, closed at 7.10 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR JEAN LAMMIMAN Chair

# **APPENDIX 1**

### **SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES**

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Labour

Conservative

(1) SAFER & STRONGER COMMUNITIES (7)

(4) (3)

Members **Robert Benson** G Chowdhury Mr Anthony Seymour (CH) Stanley Sheinwald

Mano Dharmarajah Mrs Sasi Suresh Mr Keeki Thammaiah \*

Reserve Members

- 1. Salim Miah Mrs Camilla Bath
- Mrs Lurline Champagnie
- 4. Hall

- 1. Mr Dhirajlal Lavingia
- B E Gate
   Mrs Rekha Shah
- (2) ADULT HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE (7)

(4) (3)

<u>Members</u>

Mrs Lurline Champagnie Mrs Myra Michael (CH) Mrs Vina Mithani Joyce Nickolay

Mr Keith Ferry **David Gawn** Mrs Rekha Shah \*

Reserve <u>Members</u>

- 1. Robert Benson
- Ashok Kulkarni
- 3. Julia Merison
- Salim Miah
- 1. Mitzi Green
- 2. Mr Dhirajlal Lavingia
- 3. Mr Keeki Thammaiah

	(3) CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE (11)	
	(7)	(4)
<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	Jean Lammiman Julia Merison John Nickolay Mr Dinesh Solanki Mr Yogesh Teli Mr Mark A Versallion (CH) Tom Weiss	B E Gate * Mitzi Green David Perry
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	<ol> <li>Mithani.</li> <li>Mrs Camilla Bath</li> <li>Salim Miah</li> <li>Mrs Myra Michael</li> <li>Mr Narinder Singh Mudhar</li> <li>-</li> <li>-</li> <li>-</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Ms Nana Asante</li> <li>Mr Dhirajlal Lavingia</li> <li>Mrs Sasi Suresh</li> </ol>
	Voting Co-opted Members: (1) Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors - Mr H. Epie (Primary)/Mr R. Sutcliffe (Secondary)	
	(4) SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT AND ENTERPRISE (7)	
	(4)	(3)
<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	Hall Ashok Kulkarni Mrs Vina Mithani Richard David Romain (CH)	Ms Nana Asante Mr Graham Henson Jerry Miles *
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	<ol> <li>Stanley Sheinwald</li> <li>Mr Dinesh Solanki</li> <li>Mr Yogesh Teli</li> <li>Joyce Nickolay</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Mano Dharmarajah</li> <li>Mr Keeki Thammaiah</li> <li>Mr Dhirajlal Lavingia</li> </ol>
	(5) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)	
	(3)	(2)
<u>l.</u> <u>Members</u>	John Cowan (CH) Mr Anthony Seymour Mr Mark A Versallion	B E Gate * Green
II. Reserve Members	<ol> <li>Mr Jeremy Zeid</li> <li>Richard David Romain</li> <li>Mrs Lurline Champagnie</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Jerry Miles</li> <li>Mr Graham Henson</li> <li>-</li> </ol>
CH *	= Chair = Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matter	